Find Quality Aged Domains Purple 728x90

CPU utilization

If you have found something that you think is unexpected functionality post it here for an explanation or for it to get looked at.

Do not post any personal information such as email address, transaction IDs or any passwords.

CPU utilization

Postby gz123 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:48 am

I left NHS on for 2 days and when i came back the cpu utilization was a staggering 100% on all cores. I'm not really on a low end comp, why does NHS take so much CPU time? Still running the trial to evaluate the prog so threads are even locked to 15 ... :shock:

My specs:

AMD x6 1050T @ 4,2 Ghz (OC)
16 GB ram
Win7 Ultimate x64

I was thinking of using it for creating BL's to misc properties etc.. but if it'll be using 100% of all my cores that simply won't work (or i'll have to run it in VMWare).
gz123
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:32 pm

Re: CPU utilization

Postby jimbobo2779 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:30 pm

The CPU usage is generally due to the amount of work the tool is doing. If you have Outbound link limits, bad words, blocked domains and website profiles with lots of pages this can create a lot of list comparisons which take CPU time. I am working hard on improving the CPU usage for the next update though and hope to reduce the usage by a large margin.

100% usage on 6 cores however is definitely not expected for running just 15 threads though. If you want further help email support[AT]nohandsseo.com and we can talk specifics on what could be causing this for you and some potential solutions to it.
jimbobo2779
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: CPU utilization

Postby ^^^ » Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:30 pm

At my end its the same. I have 3 profiles and use some proxys. I cant run it olonger then 24h or my ventilators go crazy... 3,2ghz I5 here 8 gig ram
^^^
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: CPU utilization

Postby altena » Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:24 am

I think NoHandsSEO is great software and we must to help Jim with bug search.
Here tested some configurations:
Project:
1 - 1 simple page (UTF-8 cyrillic anchors) - 10 keywords
2 - site with 2149 pages (English anchors) - 23 keywords
3 - site with 273 pages (English anchors) - 7 keywords
Common settings:
Threads - 15
Max links - 99
PR - no restrictions
Proxy - 10 private high speed
Harware and OS:
Intel Core2 Duo 3 GHz 4 GB RAM XP (rus) - 100% CPU load after 20-40 min from start
Intel Celeron(M) 2.4 GHz 2 GB RAM (XP(rus), XP(eng,), server2003(eng)) - 100% CPU load after 20-30 min from start.
(Like I wrote in mail, I tested different versions of Win).

At first 20-40 min CPU load ~2%-6% only.
I hope any more users write about own project settings here, and we compare successful and unsuccessful configuration.
May be it will help Jim.
altena
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:04 am

Re: CPU utilization

Postby gz123 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:21 am

altena wrote:I think NoHandsSEO is great software and we must to help Jim with bug search.
Here tested some configurations:
Project:
1 - 1 simple page (UTF-8 cyrillic anchors) - 10 keywords
2 - site with 2149 pages (English anchors) - 23 keywords
3 - site with 273 pages (English anchors) - 7 keywords
Common settings:
Threads - 15
Max links - 99
PR - no restrictions
Proxy - 10 private high speed
Harware and OS:
Intel Core2 Duo 3 GHz 4 GB RAM XP (rus) - 100% CPU load after 20-40 min from start
Intel Celeron(M) 2.4 GHz 2 GB RAM (XP(rus), XP(eng,), server2003(eng)) - 100% CPU load after 20-30 min from start.
(Like I wrote in mail, I tested different versions of Win).

At first 20-40 min CPU load ~2%-6% only.
I hope any more users write about own project settings here, and we compare successful and unsuccessful configuration.
May be it will help Jim.


Yeah, got the same pretty much no matter what system i use but with 30 or 50 threads @ at least 6 profiles running. I've limited the no. of pages though to 100/profile.

It also seem to stack up faster after awhile when the DB is gets larger.
gz123
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:32 pm

Re: CPU utilization

Postby _iz_ » Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:53 pm

I've tried all kinds of things to get the CPU usage down. It never fails to max out. Current settings on this box:

Windows Vista Biz 64
8GB RAM
Intel Quad-core 3.00GHz

43 Profiles - Inactivated all but 10 of them
10 threads
All other settings are stock. i.e.
max outbound links - 0
min pr - 0
prevent posting to root domain - checked
Misc Settings all checked
No proxies
No blocked lists

This set of profiles have around 50 pages per domain
Profile Type = page



Task Manager shows CPU maxed
Threads = 57
After clicking the stop button and waiting for threads to stop (message in status bar), Task Manager still shows 48 threads
Rebooting clean and launching NHSEO shows 43 threads, 36MB memory, and 0 CPU utilization
Pressing play bumps Threads to 56, 44MB memory, and after 45 seconds CPU usage has already climbed to 30% (currently bouncing around between 27 and 31%)

After three minutes now, memory is bouncing between 70MB and 98MB. CPU still around 30%. 59 Threads

After five minutes, memory jumped a little more. I then minimized (to tray) and watched memory allocation continually rise 5MB/sec or so until it reached over 500MB. It stayed there for a while, then dropped back to 65MB where it began to climb again.

This memory allocation continues to bounce up and down as it naturally should, but it still continues to climb over time. Now, after another five minutes, memory allocation only drops to 85MB after each climb.

After 20 minutes, my CPU bounces between 57 and 70%. 59 Threads. Memory 90MB+
_iz_
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: CPU utilization

Postby gz123 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 4:58 pm

How's the progress on this? I' saw that you posted about it at BHW before. Any betas? :)
gz123
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:32 pm

Re: CPU utilization

Postby jimbobo2779 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:24 am

I would love to be able to say I have chopped CPU usage in half but I cannot. I am still working on it and found that the main culprits were the way .NET handles network connections and how results are saved/retrieved from the DB.

From what I can see the changes to the network connections have cleared some deadlocks in the code making it run more smoothly with less downtime, I am currently working through the different sections of the code that control the DB and hope this to take a good chunk off the usage also.
jimbobo2779
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:15 pm


Return to General Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron